Parents’ Association

The important role of parents as one of the partners in education is recognised by the College.
At the Annual General Meeting of the Calasanctius College Parents’ Association held in September / early October each year, a committee is elected. Membership is open to parents of students attending the College.

Parents’ Association Committee for 2014-2015

Elected Officers

Joint Chairpersons

Sharon Conacur & Máirín O’Reilly


Mairead Hogan


Alma Shaw 

Vice Secretary

Leslie Connors


Joan Downes


Alma Shaw, Marie Therese Macken




Sub - Committee

Contact Person

Careers Day

Gerry, Evelyn, Mairead, Deirbhile, Fiona, Sharon


Evelyn, Fidelma, Fiona, Mags


Gerry, Deirbhile

Big Breakfast

Whole Committee

Killary Trip

Ann, Caroline, Mairead, Marie Therese

Liaison with Board of Management

Geraldine Brennan

Noel Greaney

Liaison with Staff

Cora Ní Loinsígh

Sylvia Rattigan


The Aims of the Parents’ Association are as follows:
    To promote communication between parents, college management    and  teaching   staff and students;
    To help keep parents informed of College policies, plans and activities;
    To encourage parent participation in extra-curricular activities;
    To help where possible in the improvement of the overall College environment;
    To support the management and teachers when requested, e.g. in dealing with the Dept. of Education and Science and other outside bodies.


Pictured presenting a very large cheque for €3,000 to the school from left to right are Alma Shaw, Secretary PA, Mags Gallagher, 80’s Disco Event Organiser PA, Córa Ní Loinsigh, Principal, Sylvia Rattigan, Deputy Principal, Fidelma Loughran 80’s Disco Event Organiser PA and Sharon Conacur, Chairperson PA.




Management Structure

Calasanctius College, Oranmore, is a Catholic Voluntary Secondary School under the trusteeship of Catholic Education And Irish Schools Trust (CEIST) in the tradition of the Presentation Sisters (Northern Province). A Board of Management governs the School. The Board generally meets once a month. This Board is elected for a three year term of Administration Office, and is comprised of the following:


  • 2 Parent Nominees
  • 2 Teacher Nominees 
  • College Principal (non voting) who acts as Secretary to the Board

New Chairperson: Ms.Siobhan Quinn
Mr.Tom Broderick
Mr.Sean Greene and Mr.Sean Conroy
Ms. Geraldine Brennan
Mr.Noel Greaney
Ms. Nuala Campbell
Ms. Tracy Byrne


Book List

Calasanctius College Book Lists:

2014/2015 Book Lists - All Years


School Handbook

Changes to policies and procedures since this handbook was edited which were made by the school in consultation with all school partners, may have resulted in changes to the content of some items in the handbook. If you have any queries please contact the school for latest policy/ procedure. 

 Below is a link to a PDF copy of Calasanctius College Handbook.

School Handbook







Mary Nihill




Cora Ní Loinsígh


Deputy Principal


Caroline Finnegan


Assistant Principal 1

Accounting, Business Studies, Business

Caroline Moggan


Assistant Principal 2

Music, Irish

Maire Moran


Assistant Principal 3

Chemistry, Science, Maths

Caitriona Naughton


Programme Coordinator

Business Studies, Business, Maths, LCVP

Aine O’Connell


Assistant Principal 4

English, History, Religious Education

Paul White


Assistant Principal 5

Art Craft Design

Deirdre O’Shaughnessy


Special Duties Teacher 1


Maura Conneally


Special Duties Teacher 2

Biology, Science

Grainne Keleghan


Special Duties Teacher 3

Irish, History

Bernadette Collins


Special Duties Teacher 4


Maura Donohoe


Special Duties Teacher 5

English, History

Roisin Ni Riada


Special Duties Teacher 6

Irish, French

Fiona Greaney


Special Duties Teacher 7

English, History, SPHE

Deirdre McGinley


Special Duties Teacher 8

Biology, Science

Geraldine Harkin


Special Duties Teacher 9

Irish, Religious Education, Learning Support

Patricia Treacy


Special Duties Teacher 10

English, Religious Education

Kathleen Gilsenan


Special Duties Teacher 11

Home Economics, SPHE

Tracy Byrne


Special Duties Teacher 12

Maths, Learning Support

Declan Duffy



Geography, English, Law

Florence Le Breton



French, SPHE

Angela Costello



Accounting, Business Studies, Business, Maths, ICT

Emer McCarthy



Geography, SPHE

Aine Clarke



Biology, Science, Photography

Clem Garvey



Materials Technology (Wood), Technical Graphics, Construction Studies

Catherine Walsh



Guidance Counsellor, Maths

Alan Stack



Materials Technology (Wood), Technical Graphics, Construction Studies, PE

Nuala Campbell




Ruth Broderick



Business Studies, Religious Education, Enterprise, LCVP

Keith Horan



Science, Geography, Religious Education

Alan Coyle

Kathleen Lally

Martin Mullins



English, PE, SPHE

Biology, Chemistry, Science, Maths, ICT

Maths, Economics, LCVP, Business Studies





Marie Barrett



English, Learning Support

Joyce Crowley



French, Learning Support

Nora Melia



English, Learning Support, SPHE, Geography

Adrian Kennedy



Maths, Physics, Technical Graphics, PE

Cathal McBride



Business Studies, Business, Religious Education, LCVP, SPHE, ICT

Niamh Lynagh



CSPE, English, Learning Support, Psychology

Orla McDonagh

Gerard Rafferty



French, Irish, Learning Support

Biology, Maths, Science, Learning Support



Karen Kenny

Barbara Whelan



Home Economics, Biology, SPHE

German, English, Learning Support



Alan Caden




Sheila Donoghue




Sinead McNickle



Maths, Physics, Science

Carmel Kelly



Maths, PE

Gillian Keane



Irish, PE

John Wall



Art, Learning Support

Elaine Dobbyn



English, History

Sylvia Rattigan


Learning Support

Michelle Long




James O'Rourke



Technical Graphics

Cathy Costello


Guidance Counsellor





Margaret O’Loughlin

Caroline Kelly

Deirdre Murray

Marie Higgins

Teresa D'Arcy

Bernie Huxford

Helen Ryan

Noreen Ruane

Marie Fox

Margaret Keady

Pat Greally

Tony Keady

Mary Furey

Margaret Heavey

Dita Sumska

Peter  Reskajs

 Wayne Redmond

More Articles ...

  1. Location
  2. Our School